What is the Nova Scotia Home & Building Designers Association?

The Nova Scotia Home & Building Designers Association (NSHBDA) was established in 1995 to foster the growth and education for home and small building designers in the construction industry.

Nova Scotia Home and Building Designers Association is committed to providing knowledgeable and professional, custom home and small building design services, to meet the needs and objectives of the owner while maintaining the health and safety requirements of Part 9 of the National Building Code of Canada.

NSHBDA members are designers of residential and small buildings that fall within the scope of the National Building Code, Part Nine (this being a comprehensive law that specifies methods and use of materials for building construction for most types of small buildings in Canada). Members of the NSHBDA have been recognized provincially and nationally, having received several Nova Scotia Home Awards, CMHC’s Flex Housing Design Competition and Natural Resources’ Passive Solar Design Competition.

NSHBDA was formed to provide a professional organization that offers practicing professional designers further education leading up to a comprehensive certification program. The NSHBDA also provides a forum for discussion between designers, builders, engineers and Product Manufacturers (Corporate members), keeping the construction related industry updated with new and upcoming trends, technologies & products.

Since small buildings are the area of focus for designers, a broader range of expertise is possible within the profession. Many hold qualifications in heat loss/heat gain evaluation, materials specifications and ventilation designers, healthy home specifiers and R-2000 builders. This wide-ranging expertise ensures better designed, more energy efficient and environmentally friendly buildings.

NSHBDA Mission Statement

The Nova Scotia Home and Building Designers Association is committed to helping its members provide current, knowledgeable and professional custom home and small building design services and to educating the public about a professional design alternative.

2017-2018 NSHBDA Executive Committee Members

President: John Connely
Vice President:Mark Gillis
Past President: Sean Saulnier
Secretary: Kimberley Reagan
Registrar: Mark Pinhey
Treasurer: Don Roscoe

2017-2018 NSHBDA Board of Directors

John Hattie
David Bateman
Nigel Collinson
Charlotte Harper